In anticipation of Tropical Depression Harvey making landfall in the Gulf Coast region, Gov. Greg Abbott on Wednesday preemptively declared a State of Disaster for 30 counties, including Jefferson.

Also on the list are Chambers and Galveston counties.

Forecasts from the National Weather Service and National Hurricane Center expect the storm to intensify Friday night, which is likely to cause severe flooding, storm surges and damaging winds around Texas.

Earlier Wednesday, the governor ordered the State Operations Center to “elevate its readiness level as the storm approaches.” He made all of the state’s resources available to assist in preparation.

“Texans believe in taking action and always being prepared in the event of an emergency,” Abbott said in a prepared statement released from his office. “That is why I am taking every precaution prior to Tropical Depression Harvey making landfall. Preemptively declaring a state of disaster will allow Texas to quickly deploy resources for the emergency response effort in anticipation of the storm’s hazardous conditions.”

Local government entities are telling the public to prepare for the likely storm.

The complete list of counties in the disaster declaration is as follows: Aransas, Austin, Bee, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Brazoria, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson counties.

 305 total views,  2 views today

Please follow and like us: